Saturday, May 28, 2022
Saturday, May 28, 2022

Milwaukee Press Club 'Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism' 2020 & 2021 Award Winners

HomeBreaking NewsRacial Quota Eliminated For Madison Police Oversight Board

Racial Quota Eliminated For Madison Police Oversight Board


More seats are open to more people on the Madison Police Civilian Oversight Board.

The city’s common council on Tuesday night eliminated a racial quota from the board.

The Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty said it looks forward to settling its lawsuit against Madison now that the Oversight Board ordinance has changed.

WILL represents Madison resident, David Blaska, who applied for the Board but is ineligible for nine of the eleven seats because of his race.

In September 2020, the City of Madison enacted an ordinance, Madison General Ordinance § 5.20, that requires four members of the Police Civilian Oversight Board to belong to the following specific racial groups: “African American,” “Asian,” “Latinx,” and “Native American.” The Madison Common Council then added another racial quota requiring “at least 50% Black members.”

“The City of Madison has not identified a compelling government interest that would justify racial quotas. The Constitution’s guarantee of equal protection requires governments – at all levels – to treat citizens as individuals, not members of a group or racial class,” WILL wrote in a statement about the reversal.

WILL initially objected to the Police Civilian Oversight Board’s quotas back in January 2021, the group sued Madison over the Oversight Board in June of last year.

GOP State Senate Watch List

Updated: 5/24/2022 2:00PM

The GOP Senators that have signed the Roth petition to go into extraordinary session to fire parole commissioner John Tate:

Stephen Nass

John Jagler

Roger Roth

Kathy Bernier

Julian Bradley

Andre Jacque

Patrick Testin

The GOP Senators who have NOT signed the petition:

Robert Cowles

Dale Kooyenga

Alberta Darling

Devin LeMahieu

Rob Stafsholt

Mary Felzkowski

Joan Ballweg

Howard Marklein

Dan Feyen

Van Wanggaard

Duey Stroebel

Jerry Petrowski

Eric Wimberger

Chris Kapenga

Latest Articles