Saturday, July 20, 2024
Saturday, July 20, 2024

Milwaukee Press Club 'Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism' 2020, 2021, 2022 & 2023 Triple GOLD Award Recipients

HomeWisconsin Breaking NewsRobin Vos Announces Task Force on Racial Disparities Members

Robin Vos Announces Task Force on Racial Disparities Members


Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) has announced the members of the newly formed Speaker’s Task Force on Racial Disparities.

The task force membership provoked controversy on talk radio due to the possible inclusion of Black Lives Matter activist Vaun Mayes, who is facing federal criminal charges. However, Mayes didn’t make the final cut.

The task force is chaired by Majority Leader Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna) and Rep. Shelia Stubbs (D-Madison).

“The task force will be comprised of four legislators and 28 community members who will focus on ways to address racial disparities, educational opportunities, public safety, and law enforcement policies and standards,” a press release from Vos says. In the press release, he said that more than 100 people applied to be part of the task force.

The Robin Vos task force includes members of the law enforcement community as well as representatives of different ethnic groups, including the chair of the Oneida Nation, local pastors, and Latino activists. Two members are affiliated with the Joseph Project, a faith-based effort to get people jobs. You can read our feature story on that project here.

We also conducted an extensive interview with Tory Lowe, a Milwaukee community activist who was selected as a member. You can read that interview here.

The first task force meeting will occur October 28.  “We know that it’s through listening and learning from one another that Wisconsin can move forward together,” said Speaker Vos in the press release.

<h2>Robin Vos Task Force Members</h2>

The members of the task force are:

Rep. Jim Steineke, Task Force Co-Chair

Rep. Shelia Stubbs, Task Force Co-Chair

Rep. Kalan Haywood (D-Milwaukee)

Rep. Robert Wittke (R-Racine)

Rev. Marcus Allen, Pastor, Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Madison and U.S. Army Veteran

Rev. Yao Yang, Pastor, The Cross Church, Wausau Joseph Project Leader and Executive Director of The Gospel TLC

Tehassi Hill, Chair, Oneida Nation

Ricardo Diaz, retired former Executive Director, United Community Center

Milwaukee Rebecca Burrell, Activist, Entrepreneur, Singer/Songwriter

Pastor Jerome Smith, Greater Praise Church of God In Christ, Milwaukee, Joseph Project Leader

Marty Calderon, God Touch Ministry, Milwaukee

Dr. Jeremiah Holiday, Chief Academic Officer, Milwaukee Public Schools

Fred Royal, President, Milwaukee NAACP

Keetra Burnette, Director, Stakeholder Engagement, United Way of Dane County and Urban League of Greater Madison

Dr. Eve Hall, President and CEO, Milwaukee Urban League

Ossie Kendrix, President and CEO, African-American Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin

Theresa Jones, VP for Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity, Children’s Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Damond Boatwright, Regional President, SSM Health

Linda Fair, Academic Advisor, Blackhawk Technical College

Veronica King, Instructor, Gateway Technical College Instructor and Former Department of Corrections Social Worker

Ted Nietzke, CEO, CESA 6 and Former West Bend School District Superintendent

Tory Lowe, Co-founder and CEO, Justice of Wisconsin

Pam Holmes, Retired Milwaukee Police Officer, President of the National Black Police Association- Wisconsin Chapter

Tony Gonzalez, Founder and Co-Chair, Toward One Wausau

Patrick Mitchell, Chief of Police, West Allis Police Department

Danilo Cardenas, Secretary/Treasurer, Milwaukee Police Association

Jim Palmer, Executive Director, Wisconsin Professional Police Association

Nate Dreckman – Grant County Sheriff

Pastor Dannie Evans, House of God Church, Janesville, WI and Former Probation and Parole Agent

Steven Roux, Rice Lake Police Chief

Wayne Strong, Retired Lieutenant, Madison Police Department

Kalvin Barrett, Law Enforcement Instructor, Madison College

Jim Piwowarczyk
Jim Piwowarczyk is an investigative journalist and co-founder of Wisconsin Right Now.

Latest Articles